Tina Engstrom

Film4 Summer Screen At Somerset House: 4 – 17 August

The open-air film festival returns with a mixed programme of UK premieres, old favourites and Cannes award-winning films, including comedies, rom-coms, musicals, sci-fis and more. The stunning Edmond J. Safra Fountain Court provides the setting to London’s largest screen set against Somerset House, which itself has provided the backdrop to many movies. So bring a blanket and picnic and head down to Somerset House from 6:30pm. Rugs, picnic hampers, food and drink are also available to buy on site. You can also enjoy DJ sets inspired by the films and special guest introductions from 6:45pm before settling down to enjoy the open-air screening in full surround sound at 9pm.

The 2016 lineup for the film festival at Somerset House includes:

Thursday, 4 August: Opening Night Premiere: Things To Come
Friday, 5 August: Bram Stoker’s Dracula
Saturday, 6 August: Ex Machina + RoboCop (1987)
Sunday, 7 August: Sunset Boulevard
Monday, 8 August: 10 Things I Hate About You
Tuesday, 9 August: Walkabout
Wednesday, 10 August: Centrepiece Premiere: Julieta
Thursday, 11 August: Best of Ten by Kubrick
Friday, 12 August: Jackie Brown
Saturday, 13 August: Galaxy Quest + The Final Girls
Sunday, 14 August: Funny Face
Monday, 15 August: Trainspotting
Tuesday, 16 August: Girlhood
Wednesday, 17 August: Closing Premiere: Captain Fantastic

For more information and to purchase tickets, visit the website for Somerset House.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

The Dark Side of Chelsea in London

It is often stated that fact is stranger than fiction, and to prove the point, many literary figures have complicated and interesting stories themselves. Let’s explore some of them on a tour of London’s Chelsea neighbourhood.

Read more

Waterloo Sunset

My friend Phil Coppell, a Liverpool Blue Badge Tourist Guide, tells me that he took Ray Davies a member of the English rock band The Kinks on a Beatles tour some years ago. He queued up and paid for his ticket like everyone else and, during the tour, mentioned that he had originally set his song Waterloo Sunset in Liverpool but the line ‘Mersey Sunset’ did not scan and he moved it to London. He had always had a soft spot for Liverpool and said that whenever The Kinks played at the Cavern or other venues they always had a great reception.

Read more